2022 Shortlist for the Kerry Group


Five Irish novels have been shortlisted for the 2022 Kerry Group Irish Novel of the year Award – one of the most sought after prizes for Irish Authors, with a shared prize fund of €22,000.

More than 60 novels were submitted for the award and adjudicators Rachel Joyce and Manveen Rana were given the arduous task of whittling these down to a shortlist of 5 novels on behalf of Listowel Writers’ Week.

Speaking about the adjudication, Manveen Rana said There was an exceptionally strong selection of entries this year, and this shortlist reflects the scope, variety and beauty we found. These five books are not only masterpieces in the written word, but they also capture the soul of their subjects, pinning them to paper in a way that reveals so much more about the human condition.”

Catherine Moylan, Chairperson of Listowel Writers’ Week revealed the shortlist. “We are delighted to continue to celebrate Irish literature with the 2022 Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year. Now in its 28th year, this award helps us showcase and promote the wealth of Irish literary talent. Thanks to Rachel Joyce and Manveen Rana for the arduous task of selecting the shortlist from an incredibly strong collection of entries. Thanks to Kerry Group who have also increased this year’s prize fund for this important literary award. We are grateful for their continued support.”

The five shortlisted novels are:

Small Things Like These by Claire Keegan

White City by Kevin Power

Bright Burning Things by Lisa Harding

Nora by Nuala O’Connor

The Rapture by Jan Carson

The overall winner of the €20,000 prize will be announced on Wednesday 1st June 2022.

Speaking of their sponsorship, Catherine Keogh, Chief Corporate Affairs & Brand Officer, Kerry Group said:

“This year Kerry Group is celebrating its 50th anniversary and we are delighted to continue our long and proud association with this hugely significant event that recognises and celebrates Irish authors and the arts sector. I would like to congratulate all five authors on being shortlisted and I very much look forward to hearing who will be announced the winner in June.”

The full list of competition winners will be announced on the 2nd June on www.writersweek.ie