Inaugural Pigott Poetry Prize 2014 Shortlist Announced

Listowel Writers’ Week is delighted to announce the five finalists for our inaugural Pigott Poetry Prize 2014. The €5,000 award is for books of poetry written by Irish writers and has been generously supported by industrialist and philantrophist Mr Mark Pigott KBE, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of PACCAR Inc.

An astonishing 80 collections were submitted for the Award and confirms that poetry is not only alive and kicking on our small island, but positively thriving. Journalist and critic John Boland and UK Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy  had the mammoth task of choosing the shortlist below:

ParallexSinéad Morrissey for Parallax








XVona Groarke for X







Maiden NamesMartin Dyar for Maiden Names








Horse-Music-Matthew-Sweeney[1]Matthew Sweeney for Horse Music








Ther Water StealerMaurice Riordan for The Water Stealer






Speaking about the shortlist, John Boland said, “It was very difficult to choose among almost 80 submitted books, many of them very fine and some exceptional, but I think our shortlist reflects the range, diversity and quality of contemporary Irish Poetry.” UK Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy added that she”was particularly impressed by the stunning new work reflected in the shortlist, all of whom would be a worthy winner. I hope this marvellous new award goes from strength to strength.”

On the shortlist’s announcement, Mark Pigott, whose family originated in Listowel and emigrated to the United States in the late 1890s said, “We are delighted with the tremendous response to the Pigott Poetry Prize. The shortlisted books of poetry reflect our wonderful heritage as well as the infinite variety of Irish writing.”

The winner will be announced at the Opening Ceremony of Listowel Writers’ Week on Wednesday 28th May 2014.

Leave a comment