Kerry Group Irish Novel Award 2012 Announced

11th November 20                                                                   


€15,000 for a work of fiction by an Irish Author

Adjudicated By: Mr John Boland and Ms Rita Ann Higgins

We are now inviting entries for the Kerry Group Irish Fiction Award.  This award is for the best work of fiction by an Irish author (i.e. first generation Irish) published between 1st March 2011 and 1st March 2012 with a prize of €15,000 for the winning author.  The 2011 Prize-winner was Neil Jordan for his novel, Mistaken.

The award will be presented at the Official Opening Ceremony of Listowel Writers’ Week, on the 30th May 2012. Our adjudicators this year are Journalist and Critic, John Boland and Poet Rita Ann Higgins.

We will require eight (8) copies of each book to be submitted for this award to Máire Logue, Kerry Group Irish Fiction Award, Listowel Writers’ Week, 24 The Square, Listowel, Co Kerry, Ireland.

The Closing Date for receipt of entries is Friday 2nd March 2012 – there is NO Application Form to complete. 

As our adjudicators have a huge amount of books to read we would really appreciate it if you would please send all eligible books published to date immediately and any future books should be submitted once published.  A short-list of  five (5) will be announced in April 2012.

Máire Logue

Leave a comment