Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year 2014

We have so much time,  and so little to do. Strike that, reverse it. – Roald Dahl

I can’t believe it’s the middle of January already, but indeed it is and here at Listowel Writers’ Week we’re busy making preparations for what will be our 43rd festival, so don’t forget to put those important dates in your diary.

 2014 festival dates are 28th May – 1st June 2014

0126For all of you authors and publishers out there who think your novel can cut the mustard, there’s no time to lose. Entries are now being invited for our prestigious Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year Award 2014. The award is for the best novel by an Irish author published between 1st February 2013 and 1st February 2014 with a prize of €15,000 for the winning author – the largest monetary prize awarded for fiction and available solely for Irish writers. The 2013 prize-winner was Gavin Corbett for his novel, This Is The Way, (pictured left with Kerry Group Chairman, Denis Buckley) and who commented on winning, “This is the best thing that has ever happened to me as a writer.” Our Festival Charman, Sean Lyons says of the Award, “This Award, kindly supported by Kerry Group means that Listowel Writers’ Week can continue to support Irish writing through difficult times and is a fantastic boost for Irish writers, established and emerging. Kerry Group themselves are a fantastic success story and the Award encourages and inspires Irish writers on the road to success, and which was also the vision of Listowel Writers’ Week since its inception.

This year’s Adjudicators are Eileen Battersby, literary critic with the Irish Times and award-winning novelist, David Park. This is Eileen’s third time to judge the award having previously adjudicated in 2002 and 2003. “This is a very important award, not only because it supports Irish fiction,” she says, “but because it is itself supported and sustained by Irish fiction. David Park commented, “The prize continues to be one of our most prestigious prizes with a formidable roll of honour of previous winners, and it is both a pleasure and a responsibility to be involved with the judging. In a time of financial austerity Ireland continues to have a wealth of literary talent and I’m sure it will prove a significant challenge to arrive finally at a single winner.”

The shortlist will be announced in April 2014 and the presentation of the Award will take place at the Opening Ceremony of Listowel Writers’ Week Literary Festival on Wednesday 28th May 2014.Entries are now being accepted from authors from the Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland or who hold an Irish Passport. Full details of entry criteria are available on our website As our adjudicators have a large amount of books to read, we would appreciate it if you would please submit only eligible books published to date.

 The Closing Date for receipt of entries is 1st February 2014

Please send six (6) copies of each novel to be submitted for this Award to Máire Logue, Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year 2014, Listowel Writers’ Week, 24 The Square, Listowel, Co. Kerry, Ireland.

 We’ll be updating the Blog on a regular basis so do keep in touch.