Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year Award 2015 and Piggot Poetry Prize Shortlists Announced

Following a tremendous response to our call for submissions to the Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year Award 2015, which is for a published novel by an Irish author and the Pigott Poetry Prize 2015, for a published collection of poetry by an Irish poet – we are delighted to announce the shortlists:

Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year Award 2015

City of DisCity of Dis by David Butler




Blue Is The NightBlue is the Night by Eoin McNamee




The Closet of Savage MomentosThe Closet of Savage Mementos by Nuala Ní Chonchúir




The VisitorsThe Visitors by Patrick O’Keeffe




The Diary of Mary Travers



The Diary of Mary Travers by Eibhear Walshe



The adjudicators Eileen Battersby and Gerald Dawe now have the task of selecting the winner, who will be presented with a cheque for €15,000 at the Opening Night of Listowel Writers’ Week on Wednesday 27th May 2015.

Speaking about the announcement, Frank Hayes, Director of Corporate Affairs, Kerry Group, said, “Kerry Group is delighted to sponsor the Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year Award 2015. This prestigious award, now in its 20th year, continues to attract books of exceptional merit from a myriad of accomplished and aspiring Irish writers. With five outstanding novels featured on this year’s shortlist, it is evident that Ireland’s literary tradition goes from strength to strength. I commend our two adjudicators, Eileen Battersby and Gerald Dawe, for compiling this year’s shortlist which showcases a rich and diverse selection of Irish writing”

The Pigott Poetry Prize 2015 in association with Listowel Writers’ Week

Now in its second year, the €5,000 Pigott Poetry Prize shortlist, adjudicated by John Boland and Gillian Clarke is as follows:

From Elsewhere by Ciaran Carson

Gathering Evidence by Caoilinn Hughes

Before Rain by Ger Reidy

One Thousand Things Worth Knowing by Paul Muldoon

The Rooms by Peter Sirr

Pigott Shortlist Collage


In addition to the above awards, all other categories of our Competitions, including The Bryan MacMahon Short Story Award will be announced on Opening Night, Wednesday 27th May, where a total prize fund of €35,000 will be awarded. This year’s festival will be officially opened by Ireland’s inaugural Laureate for Irish Fiction, Anne Enright.

A selection of the prize-winning entries, including extracts from the shortlisted Kerry Group novels and the Pigott Poetry Prize will be published in the Listowel Writers’ Week Winners Anthology, which will be available to purchase during the festival and at selected outlets.

Do you have those dates in your diaries? Listowel Writers’ Week 2015 takes place between 27th – 31st May 2015.

Come along and Experience the Magic that is Listowel Writers’ Week!

Leave a comment