Literary Workshops and Competitions 2011 Announced

Wishing all our Friends A Happy Christmas!

Listowel Writers’ Week welcome you to our first newsletter! 

We would like to wish all our Friends from around the Globe a very very Happy Christmas and we hope you have a wonderful, peaceful and safe holiday.  We hope that 2011 will bring you peace, happiness and the joy of wonderful books, great conversation and inspiring ideas. 

We are delighted and excited to be celebrating our 40th Festival in 2011 and so make sure that you put the 1st to 5th June in your new 2011 diaries!

In addition, we have great pleasure in announcing our wonderful array of Literary Workshops and Competitions for 2011 – check out our website for full details. 

We will be taking bookings for Literary Workshops from Tuesday 4th January 2011 but don’t delay too long as places are limited to 15 in each workshop.  We have a fantastic line-up of Workshop Directors including:- Aifric Campbell, Sean O’Reilly, Irene Graham, Adrian Frazier, David Park, John Hartley Williams, Harry Clifton, John MacKenna, Jeremy Sheldon, Mark O’Halloran, Sarah Webb, Mick Hanly, Terry Prone, Marina Carr and Robert Lacey.  They will be directing workshops in Novel, Memoir, Creative Writing, Poetry, Short Fiction, Writing Funny, Writing for Screen, Theatre and Journalism, Popular Fiction. A new addition for 2011 is a History Writing workshop.

Our diverse range of literary competitions for 2011 has something for every budding writer.  Please note the Closing Date for receipt of competition entries is Friday 25th February 2011.  So get creative!

To celebrate our 40th Festival, renowned cartoonist Martyn Turner of the Irish Times has designed our new image for 2011.  We hope you like it as much as we do!

Finally, we take great pleasure in announcing some of the guests writers who will headline our June Festival, these include Robert McCrum, Thomas Lynch, John Lynch, David Sedaris, Alice Sebold, Blake Morrison, Michael Holroyd, Joel Hynes, Kevin Barry, Rita Ann Higgins, Cathy Kelly, Judi Curtin, John Boyne, Dr Robyn Rowland, Mary Swander, Denis Sexton, Ali Sparks and Joe Craig.

We would like to take this opportunity of wishing you a very happy and peaceful Christmas full of happiness and delight.

From the Team at Listowel Writers’  Week