Category: .

Pigott Poetry Prize 2020

This Award is for the best Collection of Poetry by an Irish Author published between the 1st February 2019 and  31st January 2020. It has a Prize Fund of €12,000.


31st January 2020


First Prize €10,000 for a published Collection of Poetry by an Irish poet and €1,000 for each of the other shortlisted poets.

  • Collection must be published between the 1st February 2019 and 31st January 2020
  • 3 Copies of each book should be submitted to
    Listowel Writers Week Office, 24 The Square, Listowel, Co Kerry, V31 RD93
  • NO Application Form Required.
  • For Award Criteria click HERE


Jo Shapcott & Ian McMillan

Jo Shapcott Poems from her three award-winning collections, Electroplating the Baby, Phrase Book  and My Life Asleep are gathered in a selected poems, Her Book. She has won a number of literary prizes including the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize for Best First Collection, the Forward Prize for Best Collection and the National Poetry Competition (twice). Tender Taxes, her versions of Rilke, was published in 2001. Her most recent collection, Of Mutability, was published in 2010 and won the Costa Book Award. In 2011 Jo Shapcott was awarded the Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry.

Ian McMillan is a writer and broadcaster who presents The Verb on BBC Radio 3 every Friday night. He has written poems, plays, a verse autobiography Talking Myself Home and a voyage round Yorkshire in Neither Nowt Nor Summat.  Ian’s latest collection To Fold The Evening Star – New and Selected Poems (Carcanet) was published last year. Ian has been poet in residence at Barnsley Football Club, Northern Spirit Trains and Humberside Police.

Sponsor:           Mark Pigott KBE and the Pigott Family

Entry Fee:        Free of Charge