Shortlists for Literary Competitions 2014 Announced

photo (6)As always, we had a tremendous response to our Literary Competitions and we would encourage you to continue writing your short stories, poems, plays and essays, remembering the famous quote to, Start writing, no matter what. The water does not flow until the faucet is turned on. – Louis L’Amour.

We’re now pleased to announce the shortlisted entries in the following categories below. The winners will be announced on Wednesday 28th May at the Opening Ceremony of Listowel Writers’ Week in the Ballroom of the Arms Hotel, Listowel.

The Bryan MacMahon Short Story Award

Mary O’Shea for Kin

Lisa Harding for Clean

Patrick McCusker for Copley Square with Falling Leaves

Phil Kearney Byrne for My Father, My Wife

Noel King for Crossroads

Eamon Keane Full Length Play Award

Fiona Doyle for Abigail

Hugh Travers for Cardboard City

Pete Mullineaux for Running on Empty

Marina Ní Dhubháin for Lapsed Adoration

Fiona Doyle for Deluge

Duais Foras Na Gaeilge

Simon O Faolain for Teifeac, Tairseacha and Bedouin

Gréagói Ó Dúill for An Pharalís Chreathach

Simon O Faolain for Crónán

The Single Poem Competition

Jim Maguire for After they’ve gone

Jack Cuddihy for Maureen Lappan

Angela Carr for CAT Scan

Mary Turley-McGrath for Magheroarty Beach

Marie Coveney for Afternoon in the Studio

The Poetry Collection

Simon Lewis for Jewtown

Declan Sweeney for Feeding the Birds

Maurice Devitt for Reading Tennyson on Reuben Street

Jane Clarke for The River

Winifred McNulty for The Lake

Listowel Writers’ Week Originals Competition

Short Story

Fiona Whyte and Madeleine D’Arcy for Fairy Tale of New Cork

Marie Gethins for Pygmalion

Mary-Anne Bartlett for In Your Dreams

Maxine Backus for Waving as they go

Eamon Murphy for A Life Skipped

Short Poem

Shirley McClure for Executor Sale

Noel King for Glissando

Judy O’Kane for On Garryvoe Beach

Davnett Heery for Two Camellias

Marie Gahan for Orange Split

Humourous Essay

Joseph Sweeney for Sorry

John Fitzgerald for Bovine

Brian O’Connor for The Brother

Joseph Sweeney for Max Comp

Michael Ryan for The Cutting Edge

Leave a comment