Website Under Construction

Celebrating Literary & Arts


Kerry Group Novel of the Year Award 2021 – Kindly sponsored by Kerry Group PLC


Winner: Small Things Like These by Claire Keegan


  • Nora by Nuala O’Connor
  • White City by Kevin Power
  • Bright Burning Things by Lisa Harding
  • The Raptures by Jan Carson


Pigott Poetry Prize Award 2021 – Kindly sponsored by Mark Pigott KBE and the Pigott Family


Winner: American Mules by Martina Evans


  • Shoulder Tap by Maurice Riordan
  • Howdie-Skelp by Paul Muldoon


Bryan MacMahon Short Story Award – Kindly sponsored by Bill Walsh & Family, Aspire Technology Ltd


Winner:  Stonewall by Mike Guerin


Poetry Collection – Kindly sponsored by Tim Costello, Profile Developments


Winner: Scenes from a Boneyard by Lorraine McArdle


Duais Foras na Gaeilge – Kindly sponsored by Foras na Gaeilge

Winner:  Focal ar Fhocal by Áine Ní Ghlinn


  • Seanmhná Chernobyl by Eibhlís Carcione
  • Neoidríonónna by John Tinneny


Nilsson Local Heritage Award – Kindly sponsored by the Nilsson Family


Winner:  Developing Rural Ireland by Michéal Ó Fathartaigh

Second Prize:  Vinegar Hill – The Last Stand of the Wexford Rebels of 1798 by Ronan O’Flaherty & Jacqui Hanes


Creative Writing for Adults with Learning Difficulties and, or, Disabilities, Award – Kindly sponsored by Pierse Fitzgibbon Solicitors


Winner:  Catching Green Waves by Eileen Stelter


  • How Can You Keep On Moving by Ben Donnelly
  • The Express Bus by Maeve Doyle

Listowel Writers’ Week would like to sincerely thank all Sponsors who supported this year’s competitions and the many competition entrants who submitted their work.


The Website is now under maintenance we will be back up soon.