Writers’ Week Announce 2012 Winners!

Winners of Writers’ Week Literary Competitions 2012

John B Keane Lifetime Achievement Award in association with Mercier Press

Winner:           Anthony Cronin

Kerry Group Irish Novel of 2012

Winner:          Christine Dwyer Hickey with The Cold Eye of Heaven


Kevin Barry
Anne Enright
Carlo Gébler
Belinda McKeon

Bryan MacMahon Short Story Competition

Winner                       Dolores Walshe

High Commended

Wes Lee
Ciarán Folan
Mary Healy

Duais Foras na Gaeilge

Buaiteoir                    Eibhlís Carcione

Highly Commended 

Ceaití Ní Bheildiúin
Míchaél O’hAodha
Míchaél O’Ruairc

Eamon Keane Full Length Play

Winner                       Jim Lucason

Highly Commended

Michael O’Brien
Jim Minogue
Alasdair O’Hare
Paul McMahon
Oliver McGuillan
Sean O’hEachaidhin

Single Poem

                       Padraig Rooney

Highly Commended

Kate Newmann
Wes Lee
Bern Butler
Patrick Deeley

Poetry Collection

Winner                       Peggie Gallagher

Highly Commended
Maurice Devitt
Emer Fallon
Jessica Traynor
Connie Roberts

Writers’ Week Originals Short Story


Hedy Gibbons Lynott

Highly Commended

John Martin
Larry Burke

Writers’ Week Originals Short Poem

Winner                       Mary O’Gorman

Highly Commended 

Mary O’Halloran
Conor Farnan
Brendan Murray
Michael Joyce

Writers’ Week Originals Humorous Essay

Winner                       John Fitzgerald

Highly Commended 

Eileen Casey
Brian Buckley
Gerard Neville
Judy O’Kane

Irish Post / Stena Line Short Story


Carmel Walsh

Tell Your Story Competition

Shortlisted                   Pat Mulkeen
Shortlisted                   Mattie Lennon
Shortlisted                   Fergus Costello
Shortlisted                   Cillian Brennan
Con Houlihan Young Sports Journalist of the Year

Winner                       Gerard Mulvihill
2nd                                Amy Reidy
3rd                                Padraig Carrig

Kerry County Council Creative Writing for Youth

Under 9 Winner         Jessica O’Sullivan, Kilmoyley National School
Under 9 2nd                 Cathal O’Beaglaoich, Scoil MhaolCheadaire
Under 9 2nd                 Tia Kiely, Presentation National School Millstreet
Under 9 3rd                  Jessica Murphy, Ardfert National School

Under 12 Winner       Rebecca Lennon, St Anne’s National School, Shankill
Under 12 2nd               Mayalen Hauet, St Mary’s Secondary School Macroom
Under 12 3rd                Michael O’Grady, Rahan National School, Mallow
Under 12 3rd                Catherine Forristal

Under 14 Winner       Alice Butler MacDermott
Under 14 2nd               Molly O’Mahony
Under 14 3rd                Aindrias Ó’Súlleabháin

Under 16 Winner       Steven Evans
Under 16 2nd               Wiktoria Samul
Under 16 3rd                Michael McNamara
Under 16 3rd                Aoibhín Kelly, Crescent College, Limerick

Under 18 Winner       Naomi Keenan O’Shea

Under 18 2nd               Eoin Barry, St Colman’s College Fermoy
Under 18 2nd               Maurann Rabbitt
Under 18 3rd                Cian Clarke, St Coleman’s College Fermoy

Limerick Winner        Lauren Ryan, St Nicholas National School Adare
Limerick 2nd                Lára de Staic, Colaiste Chollchoille, Co Limerick
Limerick 3rd                 Sara Fahy, Lyrecrompane National School

Special Category

Winner                       Rebecca O’Brien, St John of Gods Tralee
2nd                                Brian McMahon, St John of Gods Tralee
2nd                                Deirdre Torchia

Leave a comment