Happy Christmas and New Year 2015!


With Christmas nearly upon us we take this opportunity to wish all our friends and supporters a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

It’s hard to believe that six months have passed since Listowel Writers’ Week 2014 came to a close, but indeed it has, and we’re now busy making preparations for another fun, stimulating and inspiring festival, which will take place from 27th May – 31st May 2015. Before we talk about next year, you can what some of our visitors, guest authors and workshop participants had to say about last year’s festival:

 “… blown away by the Listowel Writers’ Week experience. It was so good again this year. I really am in awe of how you do it year after year.” Margot Walsh

“Many thanks for a terrific week. I think it was one of the best ever and I’ve been attending since 1989.” Brian Ó Tiomáin

“I’ve always heard there is nowhere to match the Listowel Festival – now I know the truth of it.” Martina Devlin, Workshop Director

“That was a superb festival, really stitched in to the local community and as warm-spirited as any I’ve attended.” Jim Crace, Author

"A huge pleasure to take part in Listowel, as ever. I always feel at home here at Listowel Writers’ Week.” Joseph O’Connor, Author

Literary Workshops
As ever, 2015 will have a great mix of workshops directed by renowned Irish and international writers. We always take on-board and act on visitor feedback, so next year, in addition to our usual 3-day workshops, we have introduced two 2-day weekend workshops. Full details of all our 2015 workshops are now available here. Literary Workshops 2015

The National Children’s Literary Festival

013We rebranded our Children’s Festival in 2014 to The National Children’s Literary Festival and it seems to have taken on a momentum of its own. Running in conjunction with the main Festival it is jam-packed with events for children of all ages and their families. The 2015 programme is nearing completion and promises yet more fun, stimulating and inspiring activities with some of Ireland’s and overseas’ best known children’s authors.
Voucher PicChristmas Gift Voucher
If you are still stuck for a gift idea for the reader/writer in your life, why not take this opportunity to purchase an ‘early bird’ Christmas Gift Voucher for either a workshop or festival event? Call the office on 00 353 68 21074 or email info@writersweek.ie for more details.


The Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year Award & The Pigott Poetry Prize 2015

We are now taking submissions for the Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year Award 2015. The €15,000 prize is awarded annually to an Irish author for a full-length novel. Last year’s winner was Eimear McBride (below) for her debut novel A Girl Is A Half-formed Thing.

The Pigott Poetry Prize, now in its second year is also open for submissions. The €5,000 prize is awarded annually to an Irish poet for a book of poetry in the English language. Last year’s winner was Matthew Sweeney (below with Mark Pigott) for Horse Music.

Eimear mcbride Listowel           www.paperhearts.ie

We love to hear from you, so do keep in touch by ‘liking’ and commenting on our Facebook page or by following us on Twitter. We’re not only visible during Festival Week, but all year round with news and views, and our website Blog is updated regularly throughout the year.

So, have a wonderful Christmas, we hope that you get time to relax and read a little or read a lot and we look forward to seeing everyone in Listowel at the end of May 2015.

The Team
Listowel Writers' Week


Be the first to know . .
Get the latest news in your inbox
* = required field

Special Offers


Become a Festival Partner / Sponsor

Festival Patronage
Festival Sponsor
Festival Tickets
Complimentary Tickets
Exclusive Discounts
Festival Launches

Find Out More

Like and Follow

Facebook Feed


Copyrights 2014. Designed By SJS Web Design