Five Irish novels have been shortlisted for the 2023 Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year Award – one of the most sought-after prizes for Irish Authors, with a shared prize fund of €22,000. 

More than fifty novels were submitted for the award and adjudicators Manveen Rana and Patrick Gale were given the arduous task of whittling these down to a shortlist of five novels on behalf of Listowel Writers’ Week. 

Speaking about the adjudication, Patrick Gale said, “From an overflowing laundry basket of goodies we hope we’ve settled on a shortlist that represents the vitality and variety of this year’s submissions, from an erotically charged take on the Troubles to an invigoratingly feminist one on witch-hunts. Here, too, are two brilliant portrayals of Ireland through the eyes of rank outsiders and a third which anatomises the conflicts of small town Irish life with an insider’s merciless eye for detail.” 

Catherine Moylan, Director at Listowel Writers’ Week revealed the shortlist. “Congratulations to the shortlisted authors of 2023 Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year. We are very grateful to Kerry Group for their support for this award as it helps us promote and celebrate Irish literary talent. Thank you to Manveen and Patrick for compiling a shortlist which showcases a diverse selection of Irish literature. Thanks also to everyone who submitted their novels for this year’s award: it has been clear to all involved that the state of writing in Ireland is as healthy as ever.” 

The five shortlisted novels are: 

The Colony by Audrey Magee 

The Geometer Lobachevsky by Adrian Duncan 

Trespasses by Louise Kennedy  

The Amusements by Aingeala Flannery 

The Witches of Vardo by Anya Bergman 

The overall winner of the €20,000 prize will be announced on Wednesday 31st May 2023.  

Speaking of their sponsorship, Catherine Keogh, Chief Corporate Affairs & Brand Officer, Kerry Group said: “This year Kerry Group is celebrating its 50th anniversary and we are delighted to continue our long and proud association with this hugely significant event that recognises and celebrates Irish authors and the arts sector. I would like to congratulate all five authors on being shortlisted and I very much look forward to hearing who will be announced the winner in May.” 

The full list of competition winners will be announced on the 1st of June on