Kerry Group Novel of the Year Award 2023

– Kindly sponsored by Kerry Group PLC

Winner: The Amusements by Aingeala Flannery


  • The Colony by Audrey Magee
  • The Geometer Lobachevsky by Adrian Duncan
  • Trespasses by Louise Kennedy
  • The Amusements by Aingeala Flannery
  • The Witches of Vardo by Anya Bergman


Pigott Poetry Prize Award 2023                                                                                                     

– Kindly sponsored by Mark Pigott KBE and the Pigott Family

Winner: Company by Tom French


  • Nithy Kasa, Palm Wine Tapper and the Boy at Jericho (Doire Press)
  • Tara Bergin, Savage Tales (Carcanet Press)
  • Tom French, Company (Gallery Press)


Bryan MacMahon Short Story Award                                                            

– Kindly sponsored by Kerry County Council

Winner:  Birth of a Devil Sheep by David McGrath


Poetry Collection                                                                               

– Kindly sponsored by Tim Costello, Profile Developments

Winner: The Wings My Father Made Me by Paul McMahon


Duais Foras na Gaeilge                                              

– Kindly sponsored by Foras na Gaeilge

Winner:  I dTeach na Teanga by Laoighseach Ní Choistealbha


Nilsson Local Heritage Award                                                   

– Kindly sponsored by the Nilsson Family

Winner:  Dublin Castle: From Fortress to Palace by Séan Duffy, John Montague, Kevin Mulligan & Michael O’Neill (Wordwell Press)

Second Prize:  The Forgotten Cemetery: Excavation at Ranelagh, Co. Roscommon – Shane Delainey & Eileen Murphy (Wordwell Press)


Creative Writing for Adults with Learning Difficulties and, or, Disabilities, Award

– Kindly sponsored by Pierse Fitzgibbon Solicitors                                                   

Winner:  The Job by Colm O’Shea


Listowel Writers’ Week would like to sincerely thank all Sponsors who supported this year’s competitions and the many competition entrants who submitted their work.