Listowel Writers’ Week Announce Shortlist for Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year Award 2023

Listowel Writers’ Week Announce Shortlist for Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year Award 2023

Five Irish novels have been shortlisted for the 2023 Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year Award – one of the most sought-after prizes for Irish Authors, with a shared prize fund of €22,000. 

More than fifty novels were submitted for the award and adjudicators Manveen Rana and Patrick Gale were given the arduous task of whittling these down to a shortlist of five novels on behalf of Listowel Writers’ Week. 

Speaking about the adjudication, Patrick Gale said, “From an overflowing laundry basket of goodies we hope we’ve settled on a shortlist that represents the vitality and variety of this year’s submissions, from an erotically charged take on the Troubles to an invigoratingly feminist one on witch-hunts. Here, too, are two brilliant portrayals of Ireland through the eyes of rank outsiders and a third which anatomises the conflicts of small town Irish life with an insider’s merciless eye for detail.” 

Catherine Moylan, Director at Listowel Writers’ Week revealed the shortlist. “Congratulations to the shortlisted authors of 2023 Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year. We are very grateful to Kerry Group for their support for this award as it helps us promote and celebrate Irish literary talent. Thank you to Manveen and Patrick for compiling a shortlist which showcases a diverse selection of Irish literature. Thanks also to everyone who submitted their novels for this year’s award: it has been clear to all involved that the state of writing in Ireland is as healthy as ever.” 

The five shortlisted novels are: 

The Colony by Audrey Magee 

The Geometer Lobachevsky by Adrian Duncan 

Trespasses by Louise Kennedy  

The Amusements by Aingeala Flannery 

The Witches of Vardo by Anya Bergman 

The overall winner of the €20,000 prize will be announced on Wednesday 31st May 2023.  

Speaking of their sponsorship, Catherine Keogh, Chief Corporate Affairs & Brand Officer, Kerry Group said: “This year Kerry Group is celebrating its 50th anniversary and we are delighted to continue our long and proud association with this hugely significant event that recognises and celebrates Irish authors and the arts sector. I would like to congratulate all five authors on being shortlisted and I very much look forward to hearing who will be announced the winner in May.” 

The full list of competition winners will be announced on the 1st of June on  

Pigott Poetry Prize Shortlist Announced

Pigott Poetry Prize Shortlist Announced

We are pleased to announce that three poetry books have been shortlisted for the 2023 Pigott Poetry Prize. This prize is Ireland’s largest monetary prize for a poetry collection with the winner being awarded €12,000, and the two shortlisted finalists each receiving €1,000.


Over 50 poetry books were submitted for this year’s award and adjudicators Martin Dyar and Clodagh Beresford Dunne selected the shortlist on behalf of Listowel Writers’ Week.

Speaking on behalf of the adjudicators, poet Martin Dyar commented: “Drawn from a truly distinguished field of submissions, this shortlist reflects the depth, inventiveness and enriching musicality of contemporary Irish poetry. These books will delight readers through their wealth of compassionate understanding, their narrative strength, their verbal grace, and their exemplary levels of craft and technique. Here are poets who draw you in and ultimately make you want to share their work with others.” 

 Catherine Moylan, on behalf of the Board of Listowel Writers’ Week, stated, “We are very grateful to all the poets who have submitted wonderful collections for this year’s competition. Congratulations to Tara, Tom & Nithy on being selected for the shortlist and sincere thanks to Mark Pigott KBE celebrating Irish Poetry with the Pigott Poetry Prize.” 

The three shortlisted poetry books are:  

Nithy Kasa, Palm Wine Tapper and the Boy at Jericho (Doire Press) 

Tara Bergin, Savage Tales (Carcanet Press) 

Tom French, Company (Gallery Press) 

The winner of the Pigott Poetry Prize will be announced on the 31st of May 2023 during our opening night ceremony.  

The Pigott Poetry Prize is generously sponsored by Mark Pigott KBE. Mr Pigott shared, “It is a blessing to be able to support this wonderful literary award and recognise the leading poets of Ireland. This is the 10th year of the prize, and the competition is world class. I would like to thank our adjudicators, Martin Dyar and Clodagh Beresford Dunne for their hard work and thorough review of all the entrants and congratulate them on their excellent selection of this year’s shortlist which showcases the beauty, diversity and strength of Irish Poetry”.